The 2011 Challenge

Last year, I participated in a worldwide Bikram 101 Day Challenge, organized by lovely bloggers The Missus, theDancingJ, and bikramyogachick.  That’s right.  I committed to practicing bikram yoga daily for 90 minutes a day for 101 days straight.  Start date:  January 1, 2010.  Me and hundreds of other yogis chronicled our daily progress individually on our blogs and collectively on the official Bikram 101 blog.  After a bumpy start and a subsequent reset, I began the challenge in earnest in New York City on 9 January and completed it in Johannesburg, South Africa on 18 April.

As I look back on 2010, my goal was to take care of me and and heal myself.  In particular, I wanted to heal a knee injury that subsequently required surgery 18 years ago.  Over time, it caused such chronic and debilitating pain that I lost all strength and mobility in my leg.  It eventually prevented me from having an active lifestyle (running and eventually, even power walking was out of the question)…and from wearing high heels!

That was then.  This is now.

Ever since I started blogging in 2004, I resolved to blog more with every new year.  I wanted to write about topics that fulfill my spirit:  travel, culture, food, my hometown of New York City, and yes, yoga.  For the last six years, I’ve fallen short.  This year, my resolve is stronger because several factors in my life have come together to make it so.  I love to write.  I love the process of crafting words together, connecting ideas, and putting together my musings into something coherent and thoughtful to share with the world.  More importantly, I absolutely love exchanging ideas with others, getting into a conversation and hearing what others have to say.

I take strength from the lesson I learned on April 18, 2010 as I sat sweat-drenched in that Johannesburg studio after the final breathing exercise when the teacher announced that I had just completed my 101 day challenge.  There were gasps of astonishment at first and then…claps…then…cheers from 40+ yogis in the room.  I will always remember that moment and relish in the glow of feeling accomplished.  After that moment, I realized that I can achieve anything ANYTHING when I insert 110% of my focus and effort.  It also requires discipline, sacrifice, and accountability.

So today, I am proclaiming to the blogosphere that I am participating in the WordPress Post-a-Week-2011 Challenge.  I am going to post something on my blog at least once a week.  Today, I was particularly inspired by Newark mayor, Cory Booker, who very publicly and eloquently set a personal challenge for himself.  No more excuses, no more waiting for the time when things are “right”, no more self-imposed obstacles.  I’m not going to sit back and dream.  I’m gonna do…I mean, write.

4 responses to “The 2011 Challenge

  1. Pingback: Take Me to Queens at Once! | ActionJoJo's World

  2. Pingback: Take Me to Queens at Once! | Action JoJo

Leave a Reply

