Forgiveness, Courage, and Leaps of Faith: Why I Left My Job

Nelson Mandela is one of my heroes.  As leader of the newly formed, democratic South Africa, he rejected anger, revenge, and violence despite decades of suffering incredible injustice. Instead, he turned to reconciliation and encouraged both the former oppressors and oppressed of his country to work together to do the same. In the movie Invictus, he offered this advice to his black bodyguard who had trouble working with newly assigned white colleagues:

Forgiveness liberates the soul.
It removes fear.
That is why it is such a powerful weapon.

I was drenched in sweat. My face turned to the right, my entire left ear pressed against the soaked towel. I lay on my belly, body and mind still. My Bikram yoga teacher broke the silence in the room and said, “Time waits for no one. What are YOU waiting for?” Her words slapped my face and seeped through my every pore. The clarity I sought for years suddenly came rushing forward out of the fog of uncertainty and fear. That moment propelled me to listen to what my heart had been saying for so long.

Eight years earlier, I felt directionless and burned out. I left my job and took a leap of faith by backpacking for four months through Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Portugal, and England with someone I loved. As I lived through this life-altering experience, I had no idea that the travel bug would bite me so hard. When I came home to NYC rejuvenated, I promised myself that I would see at least one new country every year.

I worked at a private, philanthropic foundation helping give away millions of dollars annually to colleges and universities. I was ambitious, driven, and pushed myself to the limit. I asked for (and got) more responsibilities, pursued a Masters degree part-time, got married, bought a house, and still managed to travel for three weeks to my new country of choice. But soon I would learn that my go-getter attitude was not sustainable. My body eventually rebelled and broke down gradually, cracking under my self-imposed physical, mental, and emotional prisons. Medical doctors only offered me prescription drugs and surgery to help me deal with the severe, chronic pain I felt throughout my body.

Desperate for an alternative, I turned to an Eastern healer and Bikram Yoga. I channeled the same hard work, focus, and determination that put me in this mess to get myself healed. Working to heal myself was hellish and grueling because it was an irritatingly slow process and went against everything that our pill-popping, quick-fix culture teaches us.

In every Bikram studio, students are instructed to look at themselves in the mirror for the entire 90 minute class. As a beginner, I could not look at myself without unceasing criticism. You’re too fat. You’re too injured. You’re not flexible enough. You’re not good enough. Each time I looked in that mirror, I confronted my own worst enemy: me.

The intensity of the heat magnified the challenge of the yoga poses. Many times, all I wanted to do was collapse, give up, or run out of the room screaming. Magically, my teachers knew when to offer me the compassion I needed to back off. Johanna, stay still. All you have to do is breathe. They also knew when I gave up too easily. You fall out, you jump back in! Johanna, what are you waiting for?”

To survive in that hot room required only a calm breath. Surprisingly, even that seemingly simple act was the most challenging. The classes where I struggled to “just” breathe were the ones that dealt heavy blows to my ego. Patience, compassion, and forgiveness were forced to set in because there was little room for self-criticism, judgment, and attachment. The salty tears and gallons of sweat chipped away at the protective walls I built so long ago against hurt and pain. It no longer mattered if I wasn’t good enough, quick enough, pretty enough, or smart enough. All that mattered was that I do my best. And when I fell down or fell out, all I needed to do was jump right back in.

As counter intuitive as it may seem, acknowledging my humanity afforded me the freedom to access my inner strength. Only when I forgave myself could I allow myself the chance to start again.

In the 2½ years of practicing Bikram yoga, I no longer feel the weight of the world.The chronic debilitating pain I once felt, is completely gone. Today, I am the healthiest I have ever been in body, mind, and spirit. I have learned to live my life the same way I practice yoga. I tackle each challenge and uncomfortable situation with a calm breath, a focused mind, and a compassionate heart. I have learned to be okay with uncertainty, fear, and discomfort knowing that these feelings ­shall pass. I am still learning.

Last Thursday, I said goodbye to my colleagues of eight years at my secure job. I venture now into uncharted territory. Yesterday, I arrived in Los Angeles for 9 weeks of full-time certification to become a Bikram yoga teacher. I have always dreamed of becoming self employed, doing things that I love most. Leaving my job and becoming a yoga teacher will make room for my greatest passion: writing travel stories and making travel videos with my husband. I feel that my mission in this post 9/11 world is to promote cultural understanding and healing. As a yoga teacher, I can help others who seek redemption. As a traveler, I can tell you stories about the places I visit and the people who live there. As an anthropologist, I can provide a unique insight to these cultures.

Every morning we awake, we are given another day for the chance to start anew. That journey always starts with the decision to forgive. I’ve learned that forgiveness first begins with ourselves before we can bestow it to others. Only then can we become courageous. Only then can we aspire for greatness. Only then can we inspire others to do the same.

26 responses to “Forgiveness, Courage, and Leaps of Faith: Why I Left My Job

  1. I’m so proud of everything you’ve accomplished, and am excited to watch as you chase your dreams! Here’s looking forward to amazing adventures ahead!

  2. OMG I’m so jealous! If only I could follow suit. Someday! Can’t wait to hear all about TT. I hope you blog while there! Also, I am planning on taking a road trip out there at some point. Hopefully I will connect with you!

    • Michelle!!!! Ooooh, I sososo look forward to meeting you! Please tell me when you’ll be here. I totally want to meet you and give you a hug! As you know, I’ve had this dream of becoming a teacher for a while. I too said “someday” and now that day is finally here! I helped to realize that dream by planning in advance: saving money, surrounding myself with risk-takers and faith leapers, and more importantly, working on my courage to actually do it. Just like in yoga, everything starts with a thought followed by persistence, determination, and work. You will do it one day too! I know it! xoxo

  3. What an inspiration post, even for us who have left our day jobs. I feel like I’ve had my thoughts recalibrated somewhat after reading this. Remembering to breathe and the power of forgiveness – two things I know to be true yet it is a lifetimes work to practice this well, for me at least.

    I look forward to hearing how your teacher training goes, and following the ascent of actionjojo.com!

  4. James! I am so glad to know that I could still provide insight to you, someone I look up to with admiration for all the courageous risks you’ve taken so far. You are right: forgiveness and a calm breath take a lifetime of practice although practice makes habit. As my yoga teachers say, “This is yoga practice, not yoga perfect.” We are not expected to be perfect but we are expected to try. And in the process of trying, we practice no judgements. In yoga, we’ve been taught to jump right back in when we fall out of a pose no matter how much we struggle do so. So in life, when we are knocked down, all we have to do is jump back in.

  5. And you’ve only just BEGUN. I am so happy for you. You are going to inspire so many people. Enjoy the ride!

  6. JoJo, I am SO happy for you! This is great, and I hope you have a wonderful 9 wks in LA. Please let me know when you’re back in NY; would love to catch up and sweat my butt off in Bikram with you. Sending you lots of love!

  7. Hi Jo,

    I’m so proud and happy for you. My heart sings when I read courageous, joyful and freeing stories like the one you just shared. I did my first class in 10 months in Utrecht, Holland this weekend. I can’t describe the joy I felt just to lie on the ground in that room. You’ll make a wonderful teacher and I hope I’ll have the privilege to take a class with you in the future.

    Namaste!
    – Lily

    • Hi Lily, awww! Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing your bikram yoga story. I do hope our paths cross one day so that we can be in class together and afterward, talk about yoga and traveling. Namaste!

  8. So happy for you and your leap of faith! Thinking of you while on your adventure, have fun!

  9. So inspirational Jojo! We miss you and keep the posts comin’!

  10. Hey! I’m here at TT too! Great half-moon tonight! I wasn’t sure that it was you until I checked on your blog today. I’m so glad to know that you’re here!

  11. You go girl! I’ve tried bikram couple of times and it’s intense, but I felt so good when I felt the studio drenched with sweat and detoxification. 😛 I would like to learn under your tutelage in the future. 🙂

    • Yay! You have done Bikram! We all struggle in class because it is so challenging but the best part is after class when you feel so amazing! Hope to see you in my class one day soon!!! Sorry for the delay in responding. The yoga training has kept us so busy and stressed these last 8 weeks. The end is in sight…less than a week left to go! Namaste!

  12. Sometimes when you take a leap of faith you free fall a long way, enjoy the ride! Life is for the bold!

    • Hey, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!! Sorry for the delay in responding: the yoga bubble has kept me insanely busy. No time for much beyond yoga yoga yoga! Did you got to TBEX in Vancouver? If so, sorry to have missed you!!! Hope to cross paths one day soon!

  13. Pingback: Flower Petal Blooming | ActionJoJo

  14. Pingback: Flower Petal Blooming | Action JoJo

Leave a Reply

